Part Two; Project 1; Exercise 1 Compositional Sketches of Man-Made Objects (p37)

I decided to use Lego to investigate compositional sketches of  man-made objects.  I was interested in the repetitive nature of the bricks and in the light and shadow and negative space around them.  I had envisaged creating piles of bricks but in the event it wasn’t very practical as the bricks would not stay piled up and kept slipping off.  I felt that whatever arrangement I made with them they always looked natural- as if a child had left them randomly arranged after playing with them

I drew a few sketches of various arrangements in my sketchbook, using different arrangements and trying a few different media..

IMG_0358

IMG_0357

I used colour pencils for my final A4 sketchbook sketch, which turned into a fairly detailed drawing. I liked the use of colours, layering different colours on top of each other, creating the smooth texture, form and shadow on and between each brick. I added some vibrancy with contrasting colours at the end which I really enjoyed (particularly purples, blues and greens in the shadows)

IMG_0359

For my “final” sketch of lego I used oil pastels on A4 cartridge paper, thinking I could do the same as the colour pencil sketch but looser.  I probably did the picture too small- in spite of the crayons being thicker and clumsier I still drew the picture on A4! I didn’t like the finish and felt that instead of being looser it became messier (and annoying).  However, I liked the colours and layering similarly to the colour pencil drawing.  In both cases the colourful plastic finish of the brick encouraged the use of bold, bright, fun colours.  I deliberately chose to use bricks of one colour (with the addition of one lime green one for the pencil drawing above) as I liked the repetitive nature of the picture, allowing the eye to linger on shape, shadows and texture rather than confusing the simplicity of the image with different colour bricks.

IMG_0335

Ink and acrylic on A2 cartridge paper:  I was interested in researching the work of Patrick Caulfield.  https://twatmough.wordpress.com/category/research-reflection/research-part-2/   I thought it would be interesting to exaggerate the intensity of light and shade on the lego bricks to see if the final image had form or looked flat?  I spent some time trying to find an intense background colour to contrast the black image.  In spite of removing as much detail as possible the final picture still had a sense of 3D form, as if white bricks were under an intensely strong light.

IMG_0337

IMG_0352

Leave a Reply

